Machining Fr4 using a lathe

I recently wanted to make some circular PCB’s for some flashlight attachment to my mill. I could have cut the PCB on the mini-mill. But it is not CNC and i have no rotary attachment. That left me the lathe. No problem. However the moment i tried some of HSS tools, they quickly got blunt. Fiberglass really does a number on the HSS tools. I guess i could have used some indexable bits.

But then i had some of these 1/8″ ‘V’ shaped carbide bits. You can get them on Ebay.

So here is a new tool that i am going to use to cut the FR4 on my lathe. The carbide bit mounted on the 1/2″ adapter which is then mounted n the A2Z cnc QCTP tool holder.

20110907-103312.jpg

Update : The mod was no-go. While using it on the lathe, the tip of the carbide bit just broke off. This bit was meant to be used in a mill. I thought i could use it in lathe with 0 rake angle. Oh well, back to using the regular indexable carbite inserts.

 

About

I am a computer engineer living in the beautiful city of Austin,TX. While my day job is designing computer chips, I love to dabble in woodworking, metalworking, r/c and electronics.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Metalworking

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories
